Men's Tennis repeats in PL Championship, NCAA appearance

The AU Men's Tennis Team finished their season with a record of 15-4, and their second advancement into the NCAA tournament. This season also marks the team's second consecutive Patriot League Championship.

Although the Eagles lost in the NCAA first round to No. 16 seed University of Washington, the team set a higher standard for the tennis program. Senior Kyle Bailey won the team's first set in AU's NCAA history. He competed against Washington's Fred Sundsten and defeated him, 6-4.

Before the NCAA Tournament, the Patriot League honored the team by presenting it with six awards. Freshman Juancarlo Vazquez won PL Rookie of the Year, juniors Tushar Garg and Guillaume Tarralle both earned spots on the PL first team, and Vazquez and Bailey made the second team. Head Coach Martin Blackman received the PL Coach of the Year for the second year in a row

The team's four losses during the season were to Miami, Richmond, Navy and Washington. The final score of the Richmond game was 4-3. The loss to Navy was a default forfeit attributed to confusion about the match time. AU accidentally arrived three hours late. The Miami and Washington matches, 6-1 and 4-0 respectively, were AU's only matches with a high losing point spread.

With 8 of the 10 players returning to the team for the 2003-2004 season, three of whom were members of the PL first and second teams, the AU Men's Tennis team promises to have another successful season next year.

Never miss a story

Get our weekly newsletter delivered right to your inbox.

More from The Eagle

Would you like to support our work? Donate here to The Eagle Innovation Fund.