Pop artist Hayley Kiyoko to headline AMFest 2019

Singer and LGBTQ advocate will take the stage during the fourth annual event on April 20

Pop artist Hayley Kiyoko to headline AMFest 2019

Hayley Kiyoko, pictured performing in 2017, will headline AMFest on April 20. Photo by Caitlin Ison. 

Pop star Hayley Kiyoko will headline AMFest, an arts and music festival, at American University on Saturday, April 20, the AU Student Government Student Union Board announced Wednesday. 

Kiyoko, dubbed “Lesbian Jesus” by her fans, is a lesbian musician and a major advocate for the LGBTQ community. Her music often focuses on her emotional struggle with her identity, and highlights LGBTQ-related issues, including her music video “One Bad Night,” which raised awareness of violence against transgender women.  

She released her debut album “Expectations” in 2018 and now has over 2 million monthly listeners on Spotify. Some of her popular tracks include “Girls Like Girls,” “Curious” and “What I Need” featuring R&B artist Kehlani

Before rising to fame, Kiyoko was a member of the all-female pop group The Stunners, with "rhythmic pop” artist Tinashe, and was featured in the 2011 Disney Channel original movie “Lemonade Mouth.”

AMFest will take place on the quad from 2 to 11 p.m. and is co-hosted by the Kennedy Political Union, Women’s Initiative, the Alumni Association, AU Club Council and WVAU. Other members of the lineup include the Maryland-based artist Mannywellz, D.C. artist Babeo Baggins and many more musicians from the D.C.-area.

AMFest will also feature a “Women in Entertainment” panel with Girlaaa and peace and body roll duo BOOMscat at 3 p.m. in the Tavern. Students can also enjoy cotton candy, henna, a painting station and other activities.

AMFest will take place on the quad on Saturday, April 20 from 2-11 p.m. The event is free and open to the AU community and the public. 


Never miss a story

Get our weekly newsletter delivered right to your inbox.

More from The Eagle

Would you like to support our work? Donate here to The Eagle Innovation Fund.