Delivering American University's news and views since 1925. | Thursday, May 24, 2018

Student write-in candidate wins ANC seat

Rory Slatko, a sophomore in the School of Public Affairs, won the Advisory Neighborhood Commission seat that represents most of Main Campus in the D.C. government.

Slatko will represent Ward 3D07, the all-student district, that covers students living in Anderson, Centennial, Leonard, McDowell and Hughes Halls. Slatko was a write-in candidate and was not on the ballot on Election Day Nov. 6.

Slatko plans to improve neighbor and student relations while discussing traffic problems, the Campus Plan and the smoking ban, he said.

“I think the best course of action I’m willing to take is making sure everyone comes to the table,” Slatko said.

Deon Jones currently represents Ward 3D07 on the ANC. Ward 3D07 became an all-student district in 2011, when the ANC redistricted the area, The Eagle previously reported.

Joe Wisniewski, a junior in SPA, was also recently elected ANC 3D10 Commissioner, representing the Berkshire, Avalon and Greenbriar Apartments.

Both students will begin their term in January.

Never miss a story.

Get our weekly newsletter in your inbox.